Information about Pope Sixtus II

Pope Sixtus II ((unknown) - 6 August 258)

Pope Sixtus II was the Pope or Bishop of Rome from 31 August 257 until his death on 6 August 258. He was martyred along with seven deacons, Including Lawrence of Rome during the persecution of the Catholic Church by Emperor Valerian.

In the persecutions under Valerian in 258, numerous bishops, priests, and deacons were put to death. Pope Sixtus II was one of the first victims of this persecution, being beheaded on 6 August. He was martyred along with six deacons - Januarius, Vincentius, Magnus, Stephanus, Felicissimus and Agapitus. Lawrence of Rome, his best-known deacon, suffered martyrdom on 10 August, 3 days after his bishop, as Sixtus had prophesied.

Pope Sixtus II reigned in...
Reigned asIn CountryFromToCoins Issued
Papa Xystus Secundus (Pope Sixtus II) Flag of Holy See Holy See 31 August 257 6 August 258
Buy Silver and Gold Bullion Online
Buy Silver and Gold Bullion Online