Information about Raja Putra of Perlis

Raja Putra of Perlis (25 November 1920 - 16 April 2000)

Tuanku Syed Harun Putra ibni Almarhum Syed Hassan Jamalullail, KCMG was the third Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaya, and later of Malaysia, and sixth Raja of Perlis. He was the son of Syed Hassan bin Syed Mahmud Jamalullail, sometime Bakal Raja or heir presumptive to the throne of Perlis, by his commoner wife Wan Teh binti Wan Endut.

The British Military Administration (BMA) under Lord Louis Mountbatten refused to recognise Syed Hamzah as Raja of Perlis. On 18 September 1945, Syed Hamzah abdicated and went into exile in Thailand, where he died on 20 February 1958.

On 4 December 1945 the British proclaimed Syed Putra as sixth Raja of Perlis. He returned to Perlis from Kelantan, via Padang Besar. He was installed on 12 March 1949.

Raja Syed Putra was elected third Yang di-Pertuan Agong of independent Malaya and served in that office from 21 September 1960. He was installed at Istana Negara on 4 January 1961. On 16 September 1963 upon the proclamation of the Malaysian Federation comprising Malaya, British Borneo, Sarawak and Singapore, he became Yang di-Pertuan Agong of Malaysia. He completed his term of office on 20 September 1965. His son, Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin was elected as the Yang di-Pertuan Agong and served from 2001 to 2006 after the death of the incumbent, Sultan Salahuddin Abdul Aziz Shah of Selangor.

Raja Putra of Perlis reigned in...
Reigned asIn CountryFromToCoins Issued
Raja Putra of Perlis Flag of Malaysia Malaysia 21 September 1960 20 September 1965
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Advertising (helps this site)
Buy coins at Amazon