Information about Sultan Muhammad V of Kelantan

Sultan Muhammad V of Kelantan (6 October 1969 - )

Sultan Muhammad V (born 6 October 1969) is the 15th and the current Yang di-Pertuan Agong (King) of Malaysia and the Sultan of Kelantan. He was proclaimed Sultan of Kelantan on 13 September 2010, succeeding his father, Sultan Ismail Petra, who was deemed incapacitated by illness. He was proclaimed as Yang di-Pertuan Agong (Supreme Head of the state of Malaysia) on 13 December 2016.

Born Tengku Muhammad Faris Petra ibni Tengku Ismail Petra at Istana Batu, Kota Bharu, Kelantan, he was made the Tengku Mahkota (Crown Prince) of Kelantan on 30 March 1979 and formally installed at Balairong Sri, Istana Balai Besar, Kota Bharu, Kelantan on 6 October 1985. On 13 September 2010, Tengku Muhammad Faris Petra was proclaimed the 29th Sultan of Kelantan, in accordance with Article 29A of the State Constitution which states that a Sultan can no longer be king if he is not viable to rule for a period of more than a year. He took the regnal name Muhammad V.

Muhammad V attended the 222nd Meeting of the Conference of Rulers for the first time as a full member in October 2010. This marked the recognition of his accession as Sultan by other rulers.

He was elected by the Conference of Rulers on 14 October 2016 to become the next Yang di-Pertuan Agong, the head of state of Malaysia. His reign began on 13 December 2016, taking over from Abdul Halim, the Sultan of Kedah.

In an unprecedented move, Muhammad V became the first Yang di-Pertuan Agong to step down from the throne, effective 6 January 2019 while his term should have ended on 12 December 2021.

Sultan Muhammad V of Kelantan reigned in...
Reigned asIn CountryFromToCoins Issued
Sultan Muhammad V of Kelantan Flag of Malaysia Malaysia 13 December 2016 6 January 2019
Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Advertising (helps this site)
Buy coins at Amazon