Information about reference source: Perth Mint

Perth Mint
NamePerth Mint

The Perth Mint played a central role in the development of Western Australia's gold industry. During the 19th century, three branches of the Royal Mint of London were established in the Australian colonies to refine gold from the gold rushes and to mint gold sovereigns and half-sovereigns for the British Empire. The Sydney branch opened in 1855, the Melbourne branch in 1872 and the Perth branch on 20 June 1899, two years before Australia's Federation in 1901.

The Sydney Mint and Melbourne Mint no longer operate, making the Perth Mint Australia's oldest currently operating mint.

Buy Austrian Silver Philharmonics Online
Buy Austrian Silver Philharmonics Online
Reference: Details
Years1899 - present
Web(click to visit)