East African Currency Board / King Edward VIII

East African Currency Board - King Edward VIII (20 January 1936 - 11 December 1936)

The East African Currency Board (EACB) supplied and oversaw the currency of British colonies in British East Africa from 1919 to 1966. It was established after Britain took control of mainland Tanzania from Germany at the end of World War I, and originally oversaw the territories of Uganda, Kenya, and Tanzania (excluding Zanzibar). Zanzibar joined the currency area in 1936. For most of its existence, the EACB's main function was to maintain the local shilling at par with the shilling in the United Kingdom. This was done by ensuring that the local currency was adequately backed by sterling securities. It operated out of premises at 4 Millbank, London SW1, one time the offices of The Crown Agents.

All currency issued by the East African Currency Board carried the effigies and legends of the British monarch ruling at the time.

The Board was replaced by the independent central banks of Uganda, Kenya and Tanzania in 1966.

Buy American Gold Buffalo Coins
Buy American Gold Buffalo Coins
King Edward VIII: Details
CountryEast African Currency Board
From20 January 1936
To11 December 1936
Personal Information King Edward VIII of the United Kingdom
Advertising (helps this site)
Buy coins at Amazon
Country Details