Home / General Information / List of Monarch Reigns / Ottoman Empire / III. Selim (Sultan Selim III)

Information about reign: III. Selim (Sultan Selim III)

CountryOttoman Empire
From7 April 1789
To29 May 1807
Personal InformationSultan Selim III of the Ottoman Empire (1761 - 1808)

Selim III (Ottoman Turkish: سليم ثالث Selīm-i sālis) was the reform-minded Sultan of the Ottoman Empire from 1789 to 1807. The Janissaries eventually deposed and imprisoned him, and placed his cousin Mustafa on the throne as Mustafa IV. Selim was killed by a group of assassins subsequently after a Janissary revolt.