Home / Coins by Country / Coins from North Borneo / Coin Type: Five Cents

Detailed information about coin type: Five Cents from North Borneo:

Coin type: Five Cents

The British North Borneo Company had the right to produce coin under its Royal Charter, granted in 1881. It had 1 cent coins struck in England from 1882 and 1/2 cent pieces from 1885. These coins were linked to the silver dollar as used in the Straits Settlement and Hong Kong.

In 1903-1904 it moved from the use of bronze to copper-nickel, issuing 1 cent and new denominations of 2 1/2 cents and 5 cents in that metal.

The five cents coin measured 112.5 grains in the measurement units of the time, which is equal to 7.20 grammes.

The last 5 cent coins were issued in 1941, with the Japanese invasion in 1942 ending the series.

CountryNorth Borneo CurrencyBritish North Borneo Dollar
Sub-type of Sub-types
Face value5 (x Cent)
Years produced1903 - 1941 CurrentNo (demonetised 1953)
MaterialCuproNickel Designer
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)28 Thickness (mm)
Mass (g)7.2000

Shield of arms of the British North Borneo Company; on shield, a lion above a dhow (boat); native warrior supporters, one holding a shield the other as large machete; the crest, two arms holding a flag staff; below on ribbon the motto PERGO ET PERAGO (translation: I undertake and I achieve); below, the mint mark (H for The Mint, Birmingham - also known as Heaton & Sons).

Obverse inscription



Within a circle of beads, 5 / CENTS; around, STATE OF NORTH BORNEO . [year] .

Reverse inscription


EdgePlain Edge inscription



References to additional information:

[Book] Kavanagh, Kevin F. 1969. The Coins of Malaysia, pp 61-64

Five Cents: Photos

Coin - 5 Cents, North Borneo, 1928
Copyright: Museums Victoria / CC BY

Coin - 5 Cents, North Borneo, 1928
Copyright: Museums Victoria / CC BY
List of 8 coins of type: Five Cents from North Borneo
Five Cents 1903 1,000,000
Five Cents 1920 100,000
Five Cents 1921 500,000
Five Cents 1927 150,000
Five Cents 1928 151,000
Five Cents 1938 500,000
Five Cents 1940 500,000
Five Cents 1941 1,000,000
Five Cents: Some useful external links
British Commonwealth Coins > British North Borneo - Britaly Coins