Home / Coins by Country / Coins from Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic / Coin Type: Five Pesetas

Detailed information about coin type: Five Pesetas from Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic:

Coin type: Five Pesetas

The first Sahrawi pesetas were minted in 1990, but they were not adopted as the national coin of Western Sahara until 1997. As this territory is mostly controlled by Morocco, the circulating currency in that part of the country is the Moroccan dirham, with Algerian dinar and Mauritanian ouguiya circulating alongside the Sahrawi peseta in the Sahrawi refugee camps and the SADR-controlled part of Western Sahara.

CountrySahrawi Arab Democratic Republic CurrencySahrawi Peseta
Sub-type of Sub-types
Face value5 (x Peseta)
Year produced1992 CurrentNo
MaterialCuproNickel Designer
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)21 Thickness (mm)
Mass (g)

Bedouin and dromedary (camel).

Obverse inscription

TRANSPORTE TIPICO النقل التقليدي


Value. Coat of Arms of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic.

Reverse inscription


Edge Edge inscription

List of 1 coins of type: Five Pesetas from Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic
5 Pesetas 1992 unknown