Online Coin Club / Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Saint Helena Pound (pre-decimal)

Information about currency: Saint Helena Pound (pre-decimal)

Currency nameSaint Helena Pound (pre-decimal)
CountrySaint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha
Dates1821 - 1971


The Saint Helena pound (also called simply "pound") is the currency of the Atlantic islands of Saint Helena and Ascension, which are constituents of the British overseas territory of Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha. It is fixed at parity with the pound sterling.

The first coins were first introduced in 1821, in which copper Half Pennies were issued for Saint Helena by the East India Trading Company and these were used for a majority of the Company's influence in the area. During this period the island was also used as a penal ground for high-ranking political prisoners, including Napoleon Bonaparte. Circulating coinage for St. Helena would not be issued again for another 163 years, until 1984.

Prior to 1984, both Saint Helena and Ascension Island had issued non circulating commemorative coins but officially used British circulation coins. The St. Helena issued banknotes circulated alongside British coins and banknotes.