Home / General Information / List of Monarch Reigns / British West Africa / Queen Elizabeth II

Information about reign: Queen Elizabeth II

CountryBritish West Africa
From6 February 1952
To5 October 1965
Personal InformationQueen Elizabeth II (1926 - )

British West Africa or the British West African Settlements constituted during two periods (17 October 1821 until its first dissolution on 13 January 1850 and again 19 February 1866 till its final demise on 24 November 1888) an administrative entity under a governor-in-chief (comparable in rank to a Governor-general), an office vested in the governor of Sierra Leone (at Freetown). During that time, no coinage for the colony was issued.

However, the West African Currency Board issued currency for British West Africa between 1907 and 1958.

The last former colony to use this currency was Gambia, which demonetised the British West African Pound on October 5, 1965.

List of 7 coins issued in reign: British West Africa / Queen Elizabeth II
One-tenth Penny 1954 4,800,000
One-tenth Penny 1956 2,400,000
One Penny 1956 27,002,800
One-tenth Penny 1957 7,200,000
One Penny 1957 19,940,000
Threepence 1957 800,080 Portrait by Cecil Thomas
One Penny 1958 12,200,000