A Celebration of Britain (2009 - 2010), Coin Set from United Kingdom - detailed information

A Celebration of Britain (2009 - 2010)
Set NameA Celebration of Britain (2009 - 2010)
United Kingdom / A Celebration of Britain (2009 - 2010) - photo

This set of coins celebrating Britain - from Stonehenge through to the London 2012 Olympics and Paralympics - was launched by the Royal Mint during the build-up to the Summer Olympic Games in 2012.

Dave Knight, the Royal Mint's commemorative coin director, said: "People are very proud of Britain, its heritage and its history. The Celebration of Britain Silver Series is a collection of coins that embraces this pride and celebrates our nation's achievements in a way that has never been done before on the UK's coinage."

All 18 coins are denominated as £5 and have the same specifications - Crown-sized sterling silver, in Proof FDC grade. They were released one at a time, every 28 days - so that the first six are dated 2009 and the last twelve are dated 2010. All feature the London 2012 logo, which is colourised on the reverse.

The coins are grouped around three themes, with six coins dedicated to Mind, Body and Spirit respectively, with each theme having a differently coloured logo. They are packaged individually, with an information booklet for each one.

MintRoyal Mint Mintageunknown
Visit the Royal Mint web site for the latest coin releases Visit the Royal Mint web site for the latest coin releases
(affiliate ad)
PackagingBlack presentation box, with coins in individual capsules
Buy Silver Coins Online
Buy Silver Coins Online
Coin Set Details
CountryUnited Kingdom
CurrencyPound Sterling
Mintage Limit95,000
Coins GradeProof FDC (PR65 and above)
Material0.925 Silver
Release PriceGBP 1,014.70
Search Similar Coin Sets to Buy
Share or Bookmark this Page
Coin Set Photos
A Celebration of Britain (2009 - 2010): Photo A Celebration of Britain A Celebration of Britain
Copyright: Royal Mint
Catalogue Reference IDs