Great Britain: Coins Issued and Used

Showing only circulating coin types (regular coinage plus circulating commemoratives).

Great Britain (1707 - 1800)
Information about what currencies were issued by Great Britain, with lists of coinage, as well as periods when foreign-issued currencies were used.

Please note: this section is still under construction!

On 1 January 1801, the kingdoms of Great Britain and Ireland merged to form the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Ireland. In 1922, five-sixths of Ireland seceded from the United Kingdom, and the state was renamed the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland - its formal name at present.

If you are looking for coins issued after 1800, see listings under United Kingdom.

Currency: Pound Sterling (Great Britain). Used in Great Britain: (1707 - 1801)
CurrencyPound Sterling (Great Britain)
PeriodPound Sterling
Used1707 - 1801

The pound sterling is the world's oldest currency still in use and which has been in continuous usage since its inception.

Prior to 1971, one pound was subdivided into 20 shillings and each shilling into 12 pence, making 240 pence to the pound.

While it has technically been the same currency since 770 (i.e. it has only evolved but was never replaced with another currency for twelve and a half centuries), it has been separately listed for the purposes of this site as several currencies. This is done for convenience only (there would be too many coins listed for one currency otherwise) as well as for consistency - while the currency itself did not change, the country did; from Anglo-Saxon England it became (Norman) England, then Great Britain, then the United Kingdom of today.

Book Depository - Get Your Coin Catalogues Here
Book Depository - Get Your Coin Catalogues Here