Home / Information / Countries / Bhutan

Information about Bhutan.

Country: Bhutan
ISO code/s BT / BTN
From year1907

Bhutan (officially the Kingdom of Bhutan), is a landlocked country in South Asia at the eastern end of the Himalayas. It is bordered to the north by China and to the south, east and west by India. To the west, it is separated from Nepal by the Indian state of Sikkim, while farther south it is separated from Bangladesh by the Indian states of Assam and West Bengal. Bhutan's capital and largest city is Thimphu.

Monarch reigns
ཨོ་རྒྱན་དབང་ཕྱུག (King Ugyen Wangchuck) 17 December 1907 26 August 1926
འཇིགས་མེད་དབང་ཕྱུག (King Jigme Wangchuck) 26 August 1926 30 March 1952
འཇིགས་མེད་རྡོ་རྗེ་དབང་ཕྱུག (King Jigme Dorji Wangchuck) 30 March 1952 21 July 1972
འཇིགས་མེད་སེང་གེ་དབང་ཕྱུག (King Jigme Singye Wangchuck) 21 July 1972 9 December 2006
འཇིགས་མེད་གེ་སར་རྣམ་རྒྱལ་དབང་ཕྱུག (King Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck) 6 December 2006