Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Indian Rupee

Information about currency: Indian Rupee

Currency nameIndian Rupee
Dates1957 -


The Indian Rupee (symbol: ₹) is the official currency of the Republic of India. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Reserve Bank of India. It is named after the silver coin, rupiya, first issued by Sher Shah Suri in the 16th century later continued by the Mughal Empire.

The modern rupee is subdivided into 100 paise (singular paisa), though as of 2011 only 50 paise coins are legal tender. Banknotes in circulation come in denominations of ₹1, ₹2, ₹5, ₹10, ₹20, ₹50, ₹100, ₹500 and ₹1000. Rupee coins are available in denominations of ₹1, ₹2, ₹5, ₹10.

The Indian rupee symbol '₹' (officially adopted in 2010) is derived from the Devanagari consonant "र" (ra) and the Latin letter "R". The first series of coins with the rupee symbol was launched on 8 July 2011.

Currency Indian Rupee was used:
Country From To
Zimbabwe Indian Rupee 2009
India Indian Rupee 1957
Bhutan Indian Rupee 1957
Kuwait Indian Rupee 1957 1959
Bahrain Indian Rupee 1957 1959
Qatar Indian Rupee 1957 1959
Trucial States Indian Rupee 1957 1959
Muscat and Oman Indian Rupee 1957 1959
Ceylon, British Indian Rupee (pre-decimal) 1836 1870