Gibraltar: Information

Gibraltar (1713 - )

Gibraltar is a British Overseas Territory located on the southern end of the Iberian Peninsula at the entrance of the Mediterranean. It has an area of 6.7 km2 and shares its northern border with the Province of Cádiz in Andalusia, Spain. The Rock of Gibraltar is the major landmark of the region. At its foot is a densely populated city area, home to almost 30,000 Gibraltarians and other nationalities.

An Anglo-Dutch force captured Gibraltar from Spain in 1704 during the War of the Spanish Succession on behalf of the Habsburg pretender to the Spanish throne. The territory was subsequently ceded to Britain "in perpetuity" under the Treaty of Utrecht in 1713. It was an important base for the Royal Navy; today its economy is based largely on tourism, online gambling, financial services, and shipping.

The sovereignty of Gibraltar is a major point of contention in Anglo-Spanish relations as Spain asserts a claim to the territory. Gibraltarians overwhelmingly rejected proposals for Spanish sovereignty in a 1967 referendum and again in 2002. Under the Gibraltar constitution of 2006, Gibraltar governs its own affairs, though some powers, such as defence and foreign relations, remain the responsibility of the British Government.

Gibraltar: List of Rulers.
Reign / RuleFromToCoins Issued
Queen Anne 11 April 1713 1 August 1714
King George I 1 August 1714 11 June 1727
King George II 11 June 1727 25 October 1760
King George III 25 October 1760 29 January 1820
King George IV 29 January 1820 26 June 1830
King William IV 26 June 1830 20 June 1837
Queen Victoria 20 June 1837 22 January 1901 3
King Edward VII 22 January 1901 6 May 1910
King George V 6 May 1910 20 January 1936
King Edward VIII 20 January 1936 11 December 1936
King George VI 11 December 1936 6 February 1952
Queen Elizabeth II 6 February 1952 8 September 2022 67
King Charles III 8 September 2022 3
Buy Austrian Silver Philharmonics Online
Buy Austrian Silver Philharmonics Online
Gibraltar: Details
Official NameGibraltar
FlagFlag of Gibraltar
Gibraltar: Currencies Used