Home / Information / Countries / Jordan

Information about Jordan.

Country: Jordan
ISO code/s JO / JOR
From year1946

Jordan (officially the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan), is an Arab kingdom in the Middle East, on the East Bank of the Jordan River. Jordan is bordered by Saudi Arabia to the south and east, Iraq to the north-east, Syria to the north, and Israel and Palestine to the west.

After the post-World War I division of West Asia by Britain and France, the Emirate of Transjordan was officially recognized by the Council of the League of Nations in 1922. In 1946, Jordan became an independent sovereign state officially known as the Hashemite Kingdom of Transjordan. After capturing the West Bank during the 1948 Arab–Israeli War, Abdullah I took the title King of Jordan. The name of the state was changed to The Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan on 1 December 1948.

See also
Transjordan 19211946
Monarch reigns
عبد الله الأول بن الحسين (King Abdullah I) 25 May 1946 20 July 1951
طلال بن عبد الله (King Talal) 20 July 1951 11 August 1952
حسين بن طلال (King Hussein) 11 August 1952 7 February 1999
عبد الله الثاني بن الحسين‎‎ (King Abdullah II) 7 February 1999