Home / Information / Countries / Kiribati

Information about Kiribati.

Country: Kiribati
ISO code/s KI / KIR
From year1979

Kiribati (officially the Republic of Kiribati), is an island nation in the central Pacific Ocean. The nation comprises 33 atolls and reef islands and one raised coral island, Banaba. They have a total land area of 800 square kilometres and are dispersed over 3.5 million square kilometres. Their spread straddles the equator and the International Date Line, although the Date Line is indented to bring the Line Islands in the same day as the Kiribati Islands.