Home / Information / Countries / Luxembourg

Information about Luxembourg.

Country: Luxembourg
ISO code/s LU / LUX
From year1815

Luxembourg (officially the Grand Duchy of Luxembourg), is a landlocked country in Western Europe. It is bordered by Belgium to the west and north, Germany to the east, and France to the south. It comprises two principal regions: the Oesling in the north as part of the Ardennes massif, and the Gutland ("good country") in the south. Luxembourg had a population of 524,853 in October 2012 and has an area of 2,586 square kilometres, making it one of the smallest sovereign nations in Europe.

See also
Luxemburg, County of 9631353
Luxemburg, Duchy of 13531795
Monarch reigns
Grand-Duc Guillaume I (Grand Duke William I), King William I of the Netherlands 16 March 1815 7 October 1840
Grand-Duc Guillaume II (Grand Duke William II), King William II of the Netherlands 7 October 1840 17 March 1849
Grand-Duc Guillaume III (Grand Duke William III), King William III of the Netherlands 17 March 1849 23 November 1890
Grand-Duc Adolphe (Grand Duke Adolphe) 23 November 1890 17 November 1905
Grand-Duc Guillaume IV (Grand Duke William IV) 17 November 1905 25 February 1912
Grande-Duchesse Marie-Adélaïde (Grand Duchess Marie-Adélaïde) 25 February 1912 14 January 1919
Grande-Duchesse Charlotte (Grand Duchess Charlotte) 14 January 1919 12 November 1964
Grand-Duc Jean (Grand Duke Jean) 12 November 1964 7 October 2000
Grand-Duc Henri (Grand Duke Henri) 7 October 2000