Home / Information / Countries / Netherlands

Information about Netherlands.

Country: Netherlands
ISO code/s NL / NLD
From year1813

The Sovereign Principality of the United Netherlands was elevated into The Kingdom of the Netherlands by its first ruler, William Frederick, who was henceforth known as King William I.

Commonly known as the Netherlands, is a sovereign state and constitutional monarchy with territory in western Europe and in the Caribbean. The four parts of the Kingdom - Aruba, Curaçao, the Netherlands, and Sint Maarten - are separate countries (landen in Dutch) and participate on a basis of equality as partners in the Kingdom. In practice, however, most of the Kingdom affairs are administered by the Netherlands - which comprises roughly 98% of the Kingdom's land area and population - on behalf of the entire Kingdom. Consequently, the countries of Aruba, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten are dependent on the Netherlands for matters like foreign policy and defence, although they are autonomous to a certain degree with their own parliaments.

The vast majority in land area of the constituent country of the Netherlands (as well as the Kingdom) is located in Europe, with the exception of its three special municipalities (Bonaire, Saba, and Sint Eustatius) that are located in the Caribbean. The constituent countries of Aruba, Curaçao, and Sint Maarten are located in the Caribbean as well.

Suriname, Netherlands 16671975
Netherlands East Indies 18001949
New Guinea, Netherlands 19491962
Netherlands Antilles 19542010
Aruba 1986
Sint Maarten 2010
Curaçao 2010
See also
Zeeland, County of 10121581
Utrecht, Bishopric of 10241528
Holland, County of 10911581
Guelders, Duchy of 10961581
Spanish Netherlands 14821714
Frisia, Lordship of 15241581
Utrecht, Lordship of 15281549
Overijssel, Lordship of 15281588
Groningen, Lordship of 15361594
Utrecht, Province of 15491795
Frisia, Province of 15811795
Holland, Province of 15811795
Guelders, Province of 15811795
Zeeland, Province of 15811795
Dutch Republic 15881806
Overijssel, Province of 15881795
Groningen and Ommelanden, Province of 15941795
Holland 18061810
Netherlands Antilles 19542010
Monarch reigns
Willem I (King William I) 16 March 1815 7 October 1840
Willem II (King William II) 7 October 1840 17 March 1849
Willem III (King William III) 17 March 1849 23 November 1890
Queen Wilhelmina 23 November 1890 4 September 1948
Queen Juliana 4 September 1948 30 April 1980
Queen Beatrix 30 April 1980 30 April 2013
King Willem-Alexander 30 April 2013