Home / Information / Countries / New Caledonia

Information about New Caledonia.

Country: New Caledonia
Province ofFrance
ISO code/s NC / NCL
From year1853

New Caledonia (French: Nouvelle-Cal├ędonie) is a special collectivity of France located in the southwest Pacific Ocean, 1210 km east of Australia and 16136 km east of Metropolitan France. The archipelago, part of the Melanesia subregion, includes the main island of Grande Terre, the Loyalty Islands, the Chesterfield Islands, the Belep archipelago, the Isle of Pines, and a few remote islets. The Chesterfield Islands are in the Coral Sea.