Information about currency: CFP Franc

CFP Franc (1945 - present)
Currency NameCFP Franc

The CFP franc (called the franc in everyday use) is the currency used in the French overseas collectivities (collectivités d’outre-mer, or COM) of French Polynesia, New Caledonia and Wallis and Futuna. The initials CFP originally stood for Colonies Françaises du Pacifique ("French colonies of the Pacific"). This was later changed to Communauté Financière du Pacifique ("Pacific Financial Community") and then to the present term, Change Franc Pacifique ("Pacific Franc Exchange"). It is issued by the Institut d’émission d’Outre-Mer (IEOM).

In 1949, New Caledonia and what was then called French Oceania (now French Polynesia) began to issue coins. The coins have been separated in two types: the obverses are identical, whilst the reverses are distinct. Both types of coins can be used in all three French territories. The situation of the CFP coins is thus quite similar to that of the euro coins, which have a national side but can be used in all countries of the euro zone.

The New Hebrides franc had a different history of coin issuance before being replaced by the Vanuatu vatu in 1982.

Bullion Star - Buy and Store Gold and Silver in Singapore
Bullion Star - Buy and Store Gold and Silver in Singapore
CFP Franc: Details
Issued ByPacific Franc Exchange
CFP Franc: Users
Flag of French Polynesia French Polynesia CFP Franc 1945
Flag of New Caledonia New Caledonia CFP Franc 1945
Flag of Wallis and Futuna Wallis and Futuna CFP Franc 1959
CFP Franc: Related Currencies