Home / Information / Countries / Slovakia

Information about Slovakia.

Country: Slovakia
ISO code/s SK / SVK
From year1993

Slovakia (officially the Slovak Republic) is a country in Central Europe.

It has a population of over five million and an area of about 49,000 square kilometres. Slovakia is bordered by the Czech Republic and Austria to the west, Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east and Hungary to the south. The largest city is the capital, Bratislava. Slovakia is a member of the European Union, Eurozone, Schengen Area, NATO, the United Nations, the OECD and the WTO. The official language is Slovak, a member of the Slavic language family.

See also
Slovakia, First Republic of 19391945