Home / Information / Countries / Vanuatu

Information about Vanuatu.

Country: Vanuatu
ISO code/s VU / VUT
From year1980

Vanuatu (officially the Republic of Vanuatu), is an Oceanian island nation located in the South Pacific Ocean. The archipelago, which is of volcanic origin, is some 1,750 kilometres (1,090 mi) east of northern Australia, 500 kilometres (310 mi) northeast of New Caledonia, east of New Guinea, southeast of the Solomon Islands, and west of Fiji.

Vanuatu was first inhabited by Melanesian people. The first Europeans to visit the islands were a Spanish expedition led by Portuguese navigator Fernandes de Queirós, who arrived on the largest island in 1606. He claimed the archipelago for Spain, as part of the colonial Spanish East Indies, and named it Austrialia del Espiritu Santo.

In the 1880s, France and the United Kingdom claimed parts of the archipelago, and in 1906 they agreed on a framework for jointly managing the archipelago as the New Hebrides through a British-French Condominium. An independence movement arose in the 1970s, and the Republic of Vanuatu was founded in 1980.

See also
New Hebrides 19061980
Latest coin and currency news articles from country: Vanuatu (click here for all news from Vanuatu)
Vanuatu Daily PostVt500 and Vt5,000 changing from paper to polymer
July 13, 2017

Vanuatu’s series of money banknotes will see the Vt500 paper-note changed to polymer at the end of this year.

In his announcement, the Governor of the Reserve Bank of Vanuatu (RBV), Simeon Athy, said that the Vt5,000 was the second last denomination of the new Vatu family series of polymer banknotes. “The Vt5,000 will be released into public circulation on July 28, in Luganville on Santo,” he said.