Home / General Information / List of Currencies / Gulf Rupee

Information about currency: Gulf Rupee

Currency nameGulf Rupee
Dates1959 - 1970

1 Rupee = 100 Paise


The Gulf rupee (Arabic: روبيه or روبيه خليجيه), also known as the Persian Gulf rupee, was a currency used in the countries of the Persian Gulf and the Arabian Peninsula between 1959 and 1966. It was issued by the Government of India and the Reserve Bank of India and was equivalent to the Indian rupee.

Currency Gulf Rupee was used:
Country From To
Trucial States Gulf Rupee 1959 1966
Kuwait Gulf Rupee 1959 1961
Bahrain Gulf Rupee 1959 1965
Qatar Gulf Rupee 1959 1966
Muscat and Oman Gulf Rupee 1959 1970