Information about currency: Irish Pound

Irish Pound (1971 - 2002)
Currency NameIrish Pound
System1 Pound = 100 Pence

Decimalisation of the earlier (pre-decimal) currency was discussed during the 1960s. When the British government decided to decimalise its currency, the Irish government followed suit. The legislative basis for decimalisation in the Republic was the Decimal Currency Act, 1969. The number of pence in the Irish pound was redefined from 240 to 100, with the penny symbol changing from "d" to "p". The pound itself was not revalued by this act and therefore pound banknotes were unaffected, although the 10 shilling note was replaced by the 50p coin. The new 5 pence coin correlated with the old 1 shilling coin, and the new 10 pence coin correlated with the old 2 shilling coin. New coins were issued of the same dimensions and materials as the corresponding new British coins. The Decimal Currency Act, 1970 made additional provisions for the changeover not related with the issue of coins.

Decimalisation was overseen by the Irish Decimal Currency Board, created on 12 June 1968. The changeover occurred on Decimal Day, 15 February 1971.

Although the euro became the currency of the eurozone countries including Ireland on 1 January 1999, it was not until 1 January 2002 that the state began to withdraw Irish pound coins and notes, replacing them with euro specie. All other eurozone countries withdrew their currencies in a similar fashion, from that date. Irish pound coins and notes ceased to be legal tender on 9 February 2002, although they are intended to be exchangeable indefinitely for euro at the Central Bank.

Royal Mint Bullion
Royal Mint Bullion
Irish Pound: Details
Issued ByIreland
Irish Pound: Users
Flag of Ireland Ireland Irish Pound 1971 2002
Irish Pound: Related Currencies
Flag of United Kingdom United Kingdom Pound Sterling 1971