Home / Information / Countries / Ireland

Information about Ireland.

Country: Ireland
ISO code/s IE / IRL
From year1922

Ireland (Irish: Éire, also known as the Republic of Ireland), is a sovereign state in western Europe occupying about five-sixths of the island of Ireland. The capital and largest city is Dublin, located in the eastern part of the island, whose metropolitan area is home to around a third of the country's 4.6 million inhabitants. The state shares its only land border with Northern Ireland, a part of the United Kingdom. It is otherwise surrounded by the Atlantic Ocean, with the Celtic Sea to the south, Saint George's Channel to the south east, and the Irish Sea to the east. It is a unitary, parliamentary republic with an elected president serving as head of state. The head of government, the Taoiseach, is nominated by the lower house of parliament, Dáil Éireann.

Following the secession of most of Ireland from the United Kingdom in 1922, the then created Irish Free State remained (for the purposes of British law) a dominion of the British Empire and thus its people remained British subjects with the right to live and work in the United Kingdom and elsewhere in the Empire. The British monarch continued to be head of state.

The Republic of Ireland Act 1948 declared that Ireland may be officially described as the Republic of Ireland, and vested in the President of Ireland the power to exercise the executive authority of the state in its external relations, on the advice of the Government of Ireland. The Act was signed into law on 21 December 1948 and came into force on 18 April 1949.

See also
Ireland, Gaelic 8461171
Ireland, Lordship of 11711542
Ireland, Kingdom of 15421800
Monarch reigns
King George V 6 December 1922 20 January 1936
King Edward VIII 20 January 1936 11 December 1936
King George VI 11 December 1936 18 April 1949
Latest coin and currency news articles from country: Ireland (click here for all news from Ireland)
RTECentral Bank may cease printing euro notes
March 9, 2018

The board of the Central Bank is to consider a recommendation from management to cease printing euro notes at its mint in Sandyford, Co Dublin.

The proposed change would have no impact on the supply of banknotes in Ireland, the majority of which are produced elsewhere.

Irish CentralA guide to valuing all your old Irish coins (with photos)
October 9, 2016

Between the formation of the Republic of Ireland, the shift towards decimalization, and the introduction of the Euro, Irish currency underwent a great number of changes over the past 100 years, resulting in a number of coins that are now so rare they can fetch up to $13,200 at auction. Many of them are also exceptionally beautiful, featuring symbols of Ireland and tributes to the country’s agricultural and agrarian wealth.

The Irish TimesCommemorative €2 coin released to mark 1916 centenary
January 20, 2016

The design of the State’s commemorative €2 coin has been unveiled to mark the centenary of the 1916 Easter Rising and the Proclamation of the Irish Republic. The Central Bank will release 4.5 million of the coins into general circulation from Wednesday.

The design by Emmet Mullins beat submissions from 52 Irish and international designers to be chosen for the project. It shows a representation of the statue of Hibernia (the historic personification of Ireland) on top of the GPO with the centenary dates.