Information about currency: Neapolitan Piastra

Neapolitan Piastra (1735 - 1812)
Currency NameNeapolitan Piastra
System1 Piastra = 120 Grana, 1 Grano = 2 Tornesi = 12 Cavalli

The piastra was the most common silver coin of the mainland Kingdom of Sicily, also known as the Kingdom of Naples. In order to distinguish it from the piastra issued on the island of Sicily, it is referred to as the "Neapolitan piastra" as opposed to the "Sicilian piastra". These two piastra were equal but were subdivided differently. The Neapolitan piastra was divided into 120 grana (singular: grano), each of 2 tornesi (singular: tornese) or 12 cavalli (singular: cavallo). There were also the carlino worth 10 grana and the ducato worth 100 grana.

In 1812, the Neapolitan lira was introduced by the occupying French in an attempt to decimalize the Neapolitan currency units. However the attempt failed and the decimalization was limited to changing the value of the cavallo to one tenth of a grano. After restoration of Bourbon control, a single currency was issued for the whole of the Two Sicilies, see Two Sicilies piastra. This new piastra was subdivided in the same way as the Neapolitan piastra.

Coin Types in currency: Neapolitan Piastra (1)
Coin TypeTypeFromToSub-typesCoins
Unsorted Other 2
Buy American Gold Buffalo Coins
Buy American Gold Buffalo Coins
Neapolitan Piastra: Details
Issued ByNaples
Neapolitan Piastra: Users
Flag of Naples Naples Neapolitan Piastra 1735 1812