Information about currency: Tögrög

Tögrög (1925 - present)
Currency NameTögrög
System1 Tögrög = 100 Möngö

The tögrög or tugrik (Mongolian Cyrillic: төгрөг; sign: ₮) is the official currency of Mongolia. It was historically subdivided into 100 möngö (мөнгө). Currently, the lowest denomination in regular use is the 10-tögrög note and the highest is the 20,000-tögrög note.

The tögrög was introduced on December 9, 1925 at a value equal to one Soviet ruble, where one ruble or tögrög was equal to 18 grams (0.58 ozt) of silver. It replaced the Mongolian dollar and other currencies and became the sole legal currency on April 1, 1928.

Möngö coins are no longer in circulation as currency, owing to their negligible value. Today, they are sold online and to tourists as collectibles.

Coin Types in currency: Tögrög (7)
Coin TypeTypeFromToSub-typesCoins
Silver Twenty-five Grams (25g) Non-Circulating Legal Tender 2001 2
Gold Ounce (1 oz) Non-Circulating Legal Tender 2002 1
Silver Ounce (1 oz) Non-Circulating Legal Tender 2005 25
Gold Half Gram (0.5 g) Non-Circulating Legal Tender 2008 18
Silver Three Ounces (3 oz) Non-Circulating Legal Tender 2016 4
Silver Five Grams (5g) Non-Circulating Legal Tender 2017 6
Unsorted Other 188
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Tögrög: Details
Issued ByMongolia
Tögrög: Users
Flag of Mongolia Mongolia Tögrög 1925