Information about legend: Suid-Afrika [year] Afrika Borwa

Suid-Afrika [year] Afrika Borwa (2002 - )
LegendSuid-Afrika [year] Afrika Borwa

South Africa

Given that South Africa has eleven official languages, the South African Reserve Bank has established a system of rotation, whereby the inscriptions on the coinage of the country alternate between one (on smaller-size coins) or two (on larger coins) of these every year.

Suid-Afrika is in Afrikaans, and Afrika Borwa is in Sepedi/Sesotho (Northern Sotho and Southern Sotho). The precedence of the languages varies.

Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Legend: Details
Year From2002
Year To
CountrySouth Africa
Advertising (helps this site)
Buy coins at Amazon