Information about King Ugyen Wangchuck of Bhutan

King Ugyen Wangchuck of Bhutan (11 June 1862 - 26 August 1926)

Gongsar Ugyen Wangchuck (Dzongkha: ཨོ་རྒྱན་དབང་ཕྱུག, Wylie: o rgyan dbang phyug) was the first Druk Gyalpo (King of Bhutan) from 1907 to 1926. In his lifetime he made great efforts to unite the country and gain the trust of the people.

Bhutan had been ruled under 57 successive Druk Desis for 256 years until Buddhist monarchy was established. Ugyen Wangchuck founded the monarchy in 1907, although he had been more or less the actual ruler for almost a decade. In British records, he is referred as the 12th Trongsa Penlop - the ruler of Bhutan. On 17 December 1907, Trongsa Penlop Ugyen Wangchuck was elected unanimously by the representatives of the people, the officials and the clergy and enthroned as the first hereditary King of Bhutan in Punakha Dzong. A legal document on the institution of monarchy was attested with signet-rings and thumbprints, on that day. British political officer, Sir Claude White, represented the British government at the enthronement ceremony. Since that day, 17 December is celebrated as the National Day of Bhutan.

In 1926, aged 64, King Ugyen died in Phodrang Thinley Rabten. The Crown Prince Jigme Wangchuck was then about 23.

King Ugyen Wangchuck of Bhutan reigned in...
Reigned asIn CountryFromToCoins Issued
ཨོ་རྒྱན་དབང་ཕྱུག (King Ugyen Wangchuck) Flag of Bhutan Bhutan 17 December 1907 26 August 1926
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Advertising (helps this site)
Buy coins at Amazon