Information about Pope Gregory IX

Pope Gregory IX (1145 - 22 August 1241)

Pope Gregory IX (Latin: Gregorius IX, born Ugolino di Conti), was Pope from 19 March 1227 to his death in 1241. He is known for issuing the Decretales and instituting the Papal Inquisition, a mechanism that severely punished people accused of heresy, in response to the failures of the episcopal inquisitions established during the time of Pope Lucius III through his papal bull Ad abolendam issued in 1184.

The successor of Pope Honorius III, he fully inherited the traditions of Pope Gregory VII and of his cousin Pope Innocent III, and zealously continued their policy of Papal supremacy.

Pope Gregory IX reigned in...
Reigned asIn CountryFromToCoins Issued
Papa Gregorius Nonus (Pope Gregory IX) Flag of Holy See Holy See 19 March 1227 22 August 1241
Papa Gregorius Nonus (Pope Gregory IX) Flag of Papal States Papal States 19 March 1227 22 August 1241
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Advertising (helps this site)
Buy coins at Amazon