Home / General Information / List of Monarch Reigns / Ireland, Lordship of / King Henry VII, Lord of Ireland

Information about reign: King Henry VII, Lord of Ireland

CountryIreland, Lordship of
From22 August 1485
To21 April 1509
Personal InformationKing Henry VII of England (1457 - 1509)

In 1198, King Henry II of England invaded Ireland and gave the part of it he controlled to his son John as a Lordship when John was just 10 in 1177. When John succeeded to the English throne in 1199, he remained Lord of Ireland thereby bringing the kingdom of England and the lordship of Ireland into personal union. Successive Kings of England also had the title of Lord of Ireland until the title was abolished by Henry VIII, who was made King of Ireland by the Parliament of Ireland by the Crown of Ireland Act 1542.

Henry VII (Welsh: Harri Tudur) was King of England after seizing the crown on 22 August 1485 until his death, the first monarch of the House of Tudor. He ruled the Principality of Wales until 29 November 1489 and was Lord of Ireland.

The Royal style of King Henry VII was "Rex Angliae et Franciae et Dominus Hiberniae" (King of England and of France and Lord of Ireland).