Home / Coins by Country / Coins from Fiji / One Cent 1969

Detailed information about Coin: One Cent 1969 from Fiji

Coin: One Cent 1969

CountryFiji CurrencyFijian Dollar
Face value1 (x Cent) TypeOne Cent
Year1969 CurrentYes
Mintage11,010,000 (11.0 million)
NameMintageMint mark
Heaton and Sons (Birmingham Mint) 11,000,000 (11.0 million) No mint mark
Royal Mint 10,000 (10000) No mint mark
MaterialBronze DesignerJ. Ken Payne
MonarchQueen Elizabeth II EffigyPortrait by Arnold Machin (Second Portrait)
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)17.5000 Thickness (mm)
Mass (g)1.9000

Effigy of Queen Elizabeth II facing right, by Arnold Machin. Around, ELIZABETH II FIJI 1969.

Obverse inscription ELIZABETH II FIJI 1969

Tanoa kava bowl divides denomination, 1 cent.

The model for this yaqona (kava) communal mixing and serving bowl belonged to King Cakobau (1817 - 1883) and is in the Fiji Museum in Suva.

The design is by J. Ken Payne from Suva, Fiji.

Reverse inscription

1 cent

EdgePlain Edge inscription


One Cent 1969: Known varieties
Proof (Royal Mint London) 10,000 (included in main number)
One Cent 1969: Catalogue Reference IDs
SourceReference ID
Krause, Standard Catalog of World CoinsFiji KM# 27
One Cent 1969: References to Information Used
Remick, Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1971 Mint
Remick, Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1971 Mintage Circulation mintage
Krause, Standard Catalog of World Coins Mintage Circulation and proof mintage
Remick, Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1971 Varieties Proof
For Sale ads by our members
It seems none of our members is selling this coin now. If you have one to sell, sign up and advertise it for free.
One Cent 1969: Some useful external links
Museum Victoria Collections: Coin - 1 Cent, Fiji, 1969
List of all (26) coins of type: Fiji / One Cent
One Cent 1969 One Cent 1973 One Cent 1975 One Cent 1976 One Cent 1977 FAO One Cent 1978 FAO
One Cent 1979 FAO One Cent 1980 FAO One Cent 1981 FAO One Cent 1982 FAO One Cent 1983 One Cent 1984
One Cent 1985 One Cent 1986 One Cent 1987 One Cent 1990 One Cent 1992 One Cent 1994
One Cent 1995 One Cent 1997 One Cent 1999 One Cent 2001 One Cent 2002 One Cent 2003
One Cent 2004 One Cent 2005