Nepal: Coins Issued and Used

Showing only circulating coin types (regular coinage plus circulating commemoratives).

Nepal (1768 - )
Information about what currencies were issued by Nepal, with lists of coinage, as well as periods when foreign-issued currencies were used.
Currency: Nepalese Mohar. Used in Nepal: (1792 - 1932)
CurrencyNepalese Mohar
PeriodNepalese Mohar
Used1792 - 1932

The mohar was the currency of Kingdom of Nepal and parts of the Kingdom of Videha from until 1932. Silver and gold mohars were issued, each subdivided into 128 dams. Copper dams were also issued, together with copper paisa worth 4 copper dams. The values of the copper, silver and gold coinages relative to one another were not fixed until 1903. In that year, the silver mohar became the standard currency, divided into 50 paisa. It was replaced in 1932 by the rupee, also called the mohru (Moru), at a rate of 2 mohars = 1 rupee.

40 products (1788 - 1995)
Currency: Nepalese Rupee. Used in Nepal: (1932 - present)
CurrencyNepalese Rupee
PeriodNepalese Rupee
Used1932 - present

The Nepalese rupee (Nepali: रुपैयाँ, symbol: रु, Rs.; code: NPR) is the official currency of the Federal Democratic Republic of Nepal. The Nepalese rupee is subdivided into 100 paisa. The issuance of the currency is controlled by the Nepal Rastra Bank, the central bank of Nepal. The Nepalese rupee was introduced in 1932, when it replaced the Nepalese mohar at the rate 2:1.

Prior to 1994, the Nepalese rupee (रु) was pegged to the Indian rupee (₹) at the rate रु1.45 = ₹1, however since then it has been pegged at the rate रु1.60 = ₹1 currently.

Buy American Gold Eagle Coins
Buy American Gold Eagle Coins