Home / Coins by Country / Coins from Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic

We know of 1 currency periods in Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic, being:

Sahrawi Peseta (1990 - )

The Sahrawi peseta (Arabic: البيزيتا الصحراوي‎, Spanish: Peseta Saharaui) is the currency of the partially recognized Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic. It is divided in 100 céntimos, although coins with this denomination have never been minted, nor have banknotes been printed.

The first Sahrawi pesetas were minted in 1990, but they were not adopted as the national coin of Western Sahara until 1997. As this territory is mostly controlled by Morocco, the circulating currency in that part of the country is the Moroccan dirham, with Algerian dinar and Mauritanian ouguiya circulating alongside the Sahrawi peseta in the Sahrawi refugee camps and the SADR-controlled part of Western Sahara.

As it is not an official currency and not circulating, the Change Rate is not really realistic. Despite this, Sahrawi Peseta has been pegged at par to Spanish Peseta, and when the latter was phased out by the Euro, the rate became €1 for 166.386 Pts.

One Peseta 1992 - 1992
  1 Peseta 1992

Fifty Pesetas 1990 - 1990
  50 Pesetas 1990

Five Pesetas 1992 - 1992
  5 Pesetas 1992

Two Pesetas 1992 - 1992
  2 Pesetas 1992