Saint Lucia: Coins Issued and Used

Showing only bullion coin types (gold, silver and other precious metals), not circulating.

Saint Lucia (1979 - )
Information about what currencies were issued by Saint Lucia, with lists of coinage, as well as periods when foreign-issued currencies were used.
Currency: Eastern Caribbean Dollar (Saint Lucia). Used in Saint Lucia: (1970 - present)
CurrencyEastern Caribbean Dollar (Saint Lucia)
PeriodEastern Caribbean Dollar
Used1970 - present

The Eastern Caribbean dollar (symbol: $; code: XCD) is the currency of all seven full members and one associate member of the Organisation of Eastern Caribbean States (OECS). The successor to the British West Indies Dollar, it has existed since 1965, and it is normally abbreviated with the dollar sign $ or, alternatively, EC$ to distinguish it from other dollar-denominated currencies. The EC$ is subdivided into 100 cents. It has been pegged to the United States dollar since 7 July 1976, at the exchange rate of US$1 = EC$2.70.

Six of the states using the EC$ are independent states: Antigua and Barbuda, Dominica, Grenada, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. The other two, Anguilla and Montserrat, are British Overseas Territories. These states are all members of the Eastern Caribbean Currency Union.

Queen Elizabeth II appears on the banknotes and also on the obverse of the coins. She is the head of state of all the states and territories using the EC$, except for Dominica. Dominica is nevertheless a member of the Commonwealth of Nations which recognises Queen Elizabeth II as Head of the Commonwealth.

The circulation coins carry the legend "East Caribbean States". Each of the eight member countries also issues non-circulating coins which have legal tender status in that country only; these have the name of the particular state on them.

Saint Lucia has been issuing commemorative and other non-circulating coins since 1970.

Royal Mint
Royal Mint