Home / Information / Countries / Austria

Information about Austria.

Country: Austria
ISO code/s AT / AUT
From year1945

Austria (officially the Republic of Austria), is a federal republic and a landlocked country of over 8.5 million people in Central Europe. It is bordered by the Czech Republic and Germany to the north, Hungary and Slovakia to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The territory of Austria covers 83,879 square kilometres and has an alpine climate. Austria's terrain is highly mountainous, lying within the Alps; only 32% of the country is below 500 metres, and its highest point is 3,798 metres. The majority of the population speak local Bavarian dialects of German as their native language, and Austrian German in its standard form is the country's official language. Other local official languages are Hungarian, Burgenland Croatian, and Slovene.

Serbia, Second Kingdom of 17181739
See also
Austria, Margraviate of 9761156
Austria, Duchy and Archduchy 11561521
Austria, Habsburg Monarchy 15211804
Austrian Empire 18041918
Austria-Hungary 18671918
Austria, First Republic and Federal State 19191938