Home / Information / Countries / China

Information about China.

Country: China
ISO code/s CN / CHN
From year1912

China (officially the People's Republic of China), is a sovereign state located in East Asia. It is the world's most populous country, with a population of over 1.35 billion. The PRC is a single-party state governed by the Chinese Communist Party, with its seat of government in the capital city of Beijing. It exercises jurisdiction over 22 provinces, five autonomous regions, four direct-controlled municipalities (Beijing, Tianjin, Shanghai and Chongqing), and two mostly self-governing special administrative regions (Hong Kong and Macau). The PRC also claims the territories governed by the Republic of China (ROC), a separate political entity commonly known as Taiwan, as a part of its territory, which includes the island of Taiwan as Taiwan Province, Kinmen and Matsu as a part of Fujian Province and islands the ROC controls in the South China Sea as a part of Hainan Province. These claims are controversial due to the complex political status of Taiwan.

Tibet 17201959
Hong Kong 1997
Latest coin and currency news articles from country: China (click here for all news from China)
People's Daily Online10 tons of copper coins unearthed in 2,000 years old ancient tomb
November 5, 2015

In Xinjian, China's Jiangxi Province, recently a 2,000 years old tomb from Western Han Dynasty (206BC - 9AD) was discovered. Over 10,000 objects were unearthed, including 10 tons of cooper coins (2 million pieces, which have equal value of 50 kilograms of gold today), chime, bamboo slips, tomb figurines etc., which reveal the lives of the nobility in the Western Han Dynasty.

China DailyNew coins released to mark memorable date
August 20, 2015

A set of commemorative coins will be issued by the People's Bank of China on Thursday to commemorate the 70th anniversary of victory in the War of Resistance against Japanese Aggression and the fight against fascism. The coins' release was announced by the State Council Information Office on Wednesday.