Home / Information / Countries / Croatia

Information about Croatia.

Country: Croatia
ISO code/s HR / HRV
From year1991

Croatia (officially the Republic of Croatia) is a sovereign state at the crossroads of Central Europe, Southeast Europe, and the Mediterranean. Its capital city is Zagreb, which forms one of the country's primary subdivisions, along with its twenty counties. Croatia covers 56,594 square kilometres and has diverse, mostly continental and Mediterranean climates. Croatia's Adriatic Sea coast contains more than a thousand islands. The country's population is 4.28 million, most of whom are Croats, with the most common religious denomination being Roman Catholicism.

See also
Croatia, Duchy and First Kingdom 6601102
Croatia, Kingdom of (Union with Hungary) 11021526
Croatia, Habsburg Kingdom of 15261868
Dalmatia, Kingdom of 18151918
Croatia-Slavonia, Kingdom of 18681918
Croatia, Independent State of 19411945