Home / Information / Countries / Papua New Guinea

Information about Papua New Guinea.

Country: Papua New Guinea
ISO code/s PG / PNG
From year1975

Papua New Guinea (officially the Independent State of Papua New Guinea), is an Oceanian country that occupies the eastern half of the island of New Guinea and its offshore islands in Melanesia, a region of the southwestern Pacific Ocean north of Australia. Its capital, located along its southeastern coast, is Port Moresby. The western half of New Guinea forms the Indonesian provinces of Papua and West Papua.

Papua New Guinea is one of the most culturally diverse countries in the world; 848 languages are listed for the country, of which 12 have no known living speakers. Most of the population of over 7 million people live in customary communities, which are as diverse as the languages. It is also one of the most rural, as only 18 per cent of its people live in urban centres. The country is one of the world's least explored, culturally and geographically, and many undiscovered species of plants and animals are thought to exist in the interior.

See also
New Guinea, German 18841919
New Guinea, Territory of 19191975
Monarch reigns
Queen Elizabeth II 16 September 1975