Information about currency: Deutsche Mark

Deutsche Mark (1948 - 2002)
Currency NameDeutsche Mark
System1 Mark = 100 Pfenige

The Deutsche Mark (German mark), abbreviated "DM", was the official currency of West Germany from 1948 until 1990 and later the unified Germany from 1990 until 2002. It was first issued under Allied occupation in 1948 to replace the Reichsmark, and served as the Federal Republic of Germany's official currency from its founding the following year until the adoption of the euro. In English, but not in German, it is commonly called the "Deutschmark".

In 1999, the mark was replaced by the Euro; its coins and banknotes remained in circulation, defined in terms of euros, until the introduction of euro notes and coins in early 2002. The Deutsche Mark ceased to be legal tender immediately upon the introduction of the euro - in contrast to the other eurozone nations, where the euro and legacy currency circulated side by side for up to two months. Mark coins and banknotes continued to be accepted as valid forms of payment in Germany until 28 February 2002.

Coin Types in currency: Deutsche Mark (8)
Coin TypeTypeFromToSub-typesCoins
One Pfennig Regular Circulating 1948 2001 39
Fifty Pfennigs Regular Circulating 1949 2001 38
Ten Pfennigs Regular Circulating 1949 2001 38
One Mark Regular Circulating 1950 2001 50
Five Pfennigs Regular Circulating 1950 2001 38
Two Pfennigs Regular Circulating 1950 2001 45
Five Marks Regular Circulating 1951 2001 2 46
Two Marks Regular Circulating 1951 2001 8 102
Wild Winds Ancient Coins
Wild Winds Ancient Coins
Deutsche Mark: Details
Issued ByGermany
Deutsche Mark: Users
Flag of Germany Germany Deutsche Mark 1948 2002
Flag of Bosnia and Herzegovina Bosnia and Herzegovina Deutsche Mark 1992 1998
Flag of Montenegro Montenegro Deutsche Mark 1996 2002
Flag of Kosovo Kosovo Deutsche Mark 1999 2002