Information about mint: Aegina Mint

Aegina Mint (1828 - 1833)

The [Greek] National Mint of Aegina (Εθνικό Νομισματοκοπείο Αιγίνης) was the mint which produced the first currency of modern Greece.

In 1828, the creation of a national currency was one of the most pressing issues for the newborn Greek state, so that the monetary chaos reigning in the country could subside. At that time, transactions were settled with a wide variety of coins, including the kuruş; coins from major European states, such as France, Britain, Russia and Austria, were also popular. Therefore, minting a new currency - the newly introduced phoenix - was one of the greatest priorities. The Russian government lent Kapodistrias' administration 1.5 million rubles to start the project.

Governor Kapodistrias made Alexandros Kontostavlos responsible for minting the phoenix. Kontostavlos travelled to Malta, where he negotiated the purchase of several coin presses, originally owned by the Knights of St. John of Malta (the Knights Hospitaller). The machines were brought to Aegina.

The dies for the phoenix were carved by Chatzigrigoris Pyrobolistis, an Armenian jeweller, and the first sample coins were produced on 27 June 1829, in the agreed denominations of 1 phoenix, 20 lepta, 10 lepta, 5 lepta and 1 lepton. On 30 June 1829 the National Mint was founded, and production of coins continued. 1 October 1829 was set as the official launch date for the new currency. All phoenixes were minted at the National Mint of Aegina, which continued to operate until 1833. Coincidentally, Aegina is where the first ancient and modern Greek coins were minted – the staters of Aegina were minted in around 700 BC and were the first to circulate in the Ancient Greek world.

In 1832, with the arrival of King Otto as monarch, the currency system was reformed and the drachma was introduced to replace the phoenix at par. The Aegina Mint was closed, with some machines transferred to the new Royal Mint in Athens and others abandoned.

Coin Types predominantly or exclusively minted by: Aegina Mint (5)
Coins struck by: Aegina Mint (11)
CountryYearNameMintageMint Mark
Greece 1828 One Phoenix 1828 12,000 Anchor and chain
Greece 1828 Ten Lepta 1828 450,000 No mint mark
Greece 1828 Five Lepta 1828 400,000 No mint mark
Greece 1828 One Lepton 1828 480,000 No mint mark
Greece 1830 Ten Lepta 1830 1,234,000 No mint mark
Greece 1830 Five Lepta 1830 380,000 No mint mark
Greece 1830 One Lepton 1830 426,000 No mint mark
Greece 1831 Twenty Lepta 1831 2,273,000 No mint mark
Greece 1831 Ten Lepta 1831 1,223,000 No mint mark
Greece 1831 Five Lepta 1831 22,000 No mint mark
Greece 1831 One Lepton 1831 612,000 No mint mark
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Aegina Mint: Details
From Year1828
To Year1833
Advertising (helps this site)
Share or Bookmark this Page
Mint Marks used by: Aegina Mint
Anchor and chain

The Aegina Mint used the anchor and chain privy mark on one coin only, the silver Phoenix issued in 1828.

No mint mark

On copper coins, the Aegina Mint had no mint marks.