Information about King Ferdinand I of the Two Sicilies

King Ferdinand I of the Two Sicilies (12 January 1751 - 4 January 1825)

Ferdinand I, was the King of the Two Sicilies from 1816, after his restoration following victory in the Napoleonic Wars. Before that he had been, since 1759, Ferdinand IV of the Kingdom of Naples and Ferdinand III of the Kingdom of Sicily. He was deposed twice from the throne of Naples: once by the revolutionary Parthenopean Republic for six months in 1799 and again by Napoleon Bonaparte in 1805.

Ferdinand was the third son of King Charles VII of Naples and V of Sicily by his wife, Maria Amalia of Saxony. On 10 August 1759, Charles succeeded his elder brother, Ferdinand VI, becoming King Charles III of Spain, but treaty provisions made him ineligible to hold all three crowns. On 6 October, he abdicated his Neapolitan and Sicilian titles in favour of his third son, because his eldest son Philip had been excluded from succession due to illnesses and his second son Charles was heir to the Spanish throne. Ferdinand was the founder of the cadet House of Bourbon-Two Sicilies.

King Ferdinand I of the Two Sicilies reigned in...
Reigned asIn CountryFromToCoins Issued
Ferdinando IV (King Ferdinand IV), first reign Flag of Naples Naples 6 October 1759 23 January 1799
Ferdinando III (King Ferdinand III) Flag of Sicily Sicily 6 October 1759 12 December 1816
Ferdinando IV (King Ferdinand IV), second reign Flag of Naples Naples 13 June 1799 30 March 1806
Ferdinando IV (King Ferdinand IV), third reign Flag of Naples Naples 22 May 1815 12 December 1816
Ferdinando I (King Ferdinand I) Flag of Two Sicilies, Kingdom of the Two Sicilies, Kingdom of the 12 December 1816 4 January 1825 1
Royal Mint
Royal Mint
Advertising (helps this site)
Buy coins at Amazon