Home / Coins by Country / Coins from Australia / Threepence 1937 (pattern)

Detailed information about Coin: Threepence 1937 (pattern) from Australia

Coin: Threepence 1937 (pattern)

The Australian Threepence is a small silver coin used in the Commonwealth of Australia prior to decimalisation. It was minted from 1910 until 1964, excluding 1913, 1929 - 1933 inclusive, 1937, 1945 and 1946. After decimalisation on 14 February 1966, the coin was equivalent to 2½¢, but was rapidly withdrawn from circulation.

During World War II, between 1942 - 1944, threepence production was supplemented by coinage produced by the United States Mint with coins produced at the San Francisco and Denver mints. Coins minted at the San Francisco mint 1942-1944 contain a small S on the reverse, while coins produced at the Denver mint 1942-1943 have a small D on the reverse.

The 1937 Threepence coin was a pattern which was never released. It is thought that about 15 coins exist; some of them may be uniface, with the word "model" stamped on the obverse.

CountryAustralia CurrencyAustralian Pound
Face value3 (x Penny) TypeThreepence - Stalks of Grain (Sterling silver)
Year1937 CurrentNo (demonetised 1966)
Mintage15 (15)
NameMint markMintage
Royal Mint London No mint mark 15 (15)
MaterialSterling silver (0.925) DesignerGeorge Kruger Gray
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)16 Thickness (mm)
Mass (g)1.4100

Effigy of the monarch, legend.

Obverse inscription

Design, denomination, year.

Reverse inscription(unknown)
EdgeMilled Edge inscriptionNone
Threepence 1937 (pattern): Known varieties
Uniface (reverse only) unknown (included in main number)
Threepence 1937 (pattern): References to Information Used
McDonald, Australian Coins and Banknotes Mint
McDonald, Australian Coins and Banknotes Varieties
For Sale ads by our members
It seems none of our members is selling this coin now. If you have one to sell, sign up and advertise it for free.
The biggest New Zealand numismatic event of 2017 – the Numismatic Society of Auckland and Royal Numismatic Society of New Zealand DECIMAL 50 conference
The biggest New Zealand numismatic event of 2017 – the Numismatic Society of Auckland and Royal Numismatic Society of New Zealand DECIMAL 50 conference
List of all (47) coins of type: Australia / Threepence
Threepence 1910 Threepence 1911 Threepence 1912 Threepence 1914 Threepence 1915 Threepence 1916
Threepence 1917 Threepence 1918 Threepence 1919 Threepence 1920 Threepence 1921 Threepence 1922
Threepence 1923 Threepence 1924 Threepence 1925 Threepence 1926 Threepence 1927 Threepence 1928
Threepence 1934 Threepence 1935 Threepence 1936 Threepence 1937 (pattern) Threepence 1938 Threepence 1939
Threepence 1940 Threepence 1941 Threepence 1942 Threepence 1943 Threepence 1944 Threepence 1947
Threepence 1948 Threepence 1949 Threepence 1950 Threepence 1951 Threepence 1952 Threepence 1953
Threepence 1954 Threepence 1955 Threepence 1956 Threepence 1957 Threepence 1958 Threepence 1959
Threepence 1960 Threepence 1961 Threepence 1962 Threepence 1963 Threepence 1964