Home / Information / Countries / New Zealand

Information about New Zealand.

Country: New Zealand
ISO code/s NZ / NZL
From year1947

New Zealand (Aotearoa) is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean.

The country geographically comprises two main landmasses - that of the North Island, or Te Ika-a-Māui, and the South Island, or Te Waipounamu - and numerous smaller islands. New Zealand is situated some 1,500 kilometres east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and roughly 1,000 kilometres south of the Pacific island areas of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga. Because of its remoteness, it was one of the last lands to be settled by humans. During its long isolation, New Zealand developed a distinctive biodiversity of animal, fungal and plant life. The country's varied topography and its sharp mountain peaks, such as the Southern Alps, owe much to the tectonic uplift of land and volcanic eruptions. New Zealand's capital city is Wellington, while its most populous city is Auckland.

Tokelau 1948
Cook Islands 1965
Niue 1974
Monarch reigns
Queen Victoria 6 February 1840 22 January 1901
King Edward VII 22 January 1901 6 May 1910
King George V 6 May 1910 20 January 1936
King Edward VIII 20 January 1936 11 December 1936
King George VI 11 December 1936 6 February 1952
Queen Elizabeth II 6 February 1952
Latest coin and currency news articles from country: New Zealand (click here for all news from New Zealand)
NZ HeraldNew Zealand's first banknote up for auction
August 3, 2016

A slice of Kiwi history could be yours, although it'll cost you at least $41,500 ... and possibly much more. The Reserve Bank of New Zealand's oldest bank note is being auctioned in the United States next week.

Director of bank note auctions Manning Garrett said the 1934 note could be expected to go for well over the estimated value of US$50,000 to US$100,000 ($69,000 to $138,000) based on Australia's first Commonwealth issued banknote being sold for AU$1.8 million in 2008.

Reserve Bank of New ZealandCelebrating the tukutuku panel on the $10 note
November 10, 2015

The Reserve Bank, Rongowhakaata Iwi Trust and Te Hau ki Turanga Trust are working together to cast light on the history of the tukutuku panel represented on New Zealand’s $10 banknote.

Governor Graeme Wheeler said that the Bank was aware that the tukutuku panel is a generic East Coast design reflecting the Milky Way.

Reserve Bank of New ZealandThe first of the new banknotes enters circulation from Monday
October 9, 2015

New $5 and $10 banknotes will be in public circulation from Monday, the first day that banks and retailers can dispense, the Reserve Bank said today.

“Approximately 345,000 of the new Series 7 banknotes have been dispatched to banks to meet their orders. This compares with about 45,000,000 Series 6 $5 and $10 notes currently in circulation,” Head of Currency Brian Hayr said.

Reserve Bank of New ZealandBrighter Money ($5s and $10s) coming from 12 October
September 22, 2015

The Reserve Bank today announced the first release of new $5 and $10 notes will take place on Monday 12 October. From that day, new notes will start to be released from banks and retailers.

Reserve Bank of New ZealandReserve Bank launches new $5 and $10 banknotes
September 1, 2015

Prime Minister John Key along with the Reserve Bank today launched the first two denominations in a series of new banknotes that include new security features.

The $5 and $10 final banknotes were revealed at an event at the Bank in Wellington, and will start to be released from mid-October 2015.

Reserve Bank of New ZealandAnzac commemorative coins march out of PostShop and Kiwibank doors
April 20, 2015

More than three quarters of the coloured circulating commemorative coins minted to mark the Anzac centenary have been taken up by the public.

The Reserve Bank minted one million of the special 50 cent Anzac coins to commemorate the centenary, on 25 April 1915, of the Anzac landings on the Gallipoli Peninsula.