Home / Coins by Country / Coins from New Guinea, Territory of / Coin Type: Sixpence

Detailed information about coin type: Sixpence from New Guinea, Territory of:

Coin type: Sixpence

After World War I, New Guinea was administered by Australia (with an interruption due to Japanese occupation during World War II) until the independence of Papua New Guinea in 1975.

Between 1929 and 1945, special coins were minted for the territory by the Melbourne Mint but Australian coinage circulated too. The coins had the same denominations as their British and Australian counterparts from half penny through to shilling (no larger denominations were issued) but had different designs and feature a central hole.

CountryNew Guinea, Territory of CurrencyNew Guinean Pound
Sub-type of Sub-types
Face value6 (x Penny)
Years produced1935 - 1943 CurrentNo (demonetised 1966)
MaterialCuproNickel DesignerGeorge Kruger Gray
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound with hole
Size (mm)19.3000 Thickness (mm)
Mass (g)

Crown above central hole dividing the date; royal cypher below (GRI for Georgivs V / VI Rex Imperator - George V / VI King and Emperor).

The appearance of the cypher was slightly redesigned for George VI.

Obverse inscription[year] GRI

Star shaped eight-pointed device around central hole. Around, TERRITORY OF NEW GUINEA and the denomination - "6 PENCE" in 1935 or "SIX PENCE" in 1943.

Reverse inscriptionTERRITORY OF NEW GUINEA 6 PENCE [year]
EdgeMilled Edge inscriptionNone
List of 2 coins of type: Sixpence from New Guinea, Territory of
Sixpence 1935 2,110,000 King George V 1935 GRI
Sixpence 1943 128,000 King George VI 1943 GRI
Bullion Star - Buy and Store Gold and Silver in Singapore
Bullion Star - Buy and Store Gold and Silver in Singapore