Cameroon: Coins Issued and Used

Showing only non-circulating legal tender (NCLT) coin types.

Cameroon (1960 - )
Information about what currencies were issued by Cameroon, with lists of coinage, as well as periods when foreign-issued currencies were used.
Currency: Central African CFA Franc, Cameroon. Used in Cameroon: (1960 - present)
CurrencyCentral African CFA Franc, Cameroon
PeriodCentral African CFA Franc
Used1960 - present

The CFA franc was introduced to the French colonies in Equatorial Africa in 1945, replacing the French Equatorial African franc. The Equatorial African colonies and territories using the CFA franc were Chad, French Cameroun, French Congo, Gabon and Ubangi-Shari.

The currency continued in use when these colonies gained their independence. Equatorial Guinea, the only former Spanish colony in the zone, adopted the CFA franc in 1984, replacing the Equatorial Guinean ekwele at a rate of 1 franc = 4 bipkwele.

Unlike the Euro coinage - which is issued by each member country separately - the CFA Franc has both common and national issues. All common circulating coins are issued under the authority of CEMAC ("Communauté Économique et Monétaire de l'Afrique Centrale" - Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa) and have no issuing country. Separately, each member country can strike coins bearing its national symbols; these coins are legal tender in the other members of the bloc too.

Silver Kilo (1 kg)
1 coin (2022)
Silver Three Ounces (3 oz)
1 coin (2024)
Silver Ounce (1 oz)
1 coin (2023)
Silver Half Ounce (1/2 oz)
1 coin (2023)
Royal Mint
Royal Mint