Home / Coins by Country / Coins from United Kingdom / Fourpence 2009 (Maundy)

Detailed information about Coin: Fourpence 2009 (Maundy) from United Kingdom

Coin: Fourpence 2009 (Maundy)

Maundy coins are specially minted in varying (but always small) mintage for ceremonial purposes and not intended as circulating currency. They are handed by the British monarch in person to selected deserving individuals once every year. They are issued in "prooflike" condition and usually remain in it, especially the more recent ones.

The Royal Maundy is an ancient ceremony which has its origin in the commandment Christ gave after washing the feet of his disciples on the day before Good Friday.

The commandment (also known as a 'mandatum' from which the word Maundy is derived) ‘that ye love one another’ (John XIII 34) is still recalled regularly by Christian churches throughout the world. The ceremony of washing the feet of the poor which was accompanied by gifts of food and clothing can be traced back to the fourth century.

It seems to have been the custom as early as the thirteenth century for members of the royal family to take part in Maundy ceremonies, to distribute money and gifts, and to recall Christ's simple act of humility by washing the feet of the poor.

Henry IV began the practice of relating the number of recipients of gifts to the sovereign's age, and as it became the custom of the sovereign to perform the ceremony, the event became known as the Royal Maundy.

Maundy money has remained in much the same form since 1670, and the coins used for the Maundy ceremony have traditionally been struck in sterling silver, save for the brief interruptions of Henry VIII’s debasement of the coinage and the general change to 50% silver coins in 1920. The sterling silver standard (92.5%) was resumed following the Coinage Act of 1946.

The location of the 2009 Maundy ceremony was the St Edmundsbury Cathedral, Bury St Edmunds.

CountryUnited Kingdom CurrencyPound Sterling
Face value4 (x Penny) TypeMaundy Fourpence (Decimal)
Year2009 CurrentYes
Mintage1,602 (1602)
NameMint markMintage
Royal Mint No mint mark 1,602 (1602)
Material0.925 Silver DesignerJean Baptise Merlen
MonarchQueen Elizabeth II EffigyPortrait by Mary Gillick (First Portrait)
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)18 Thickness (mm)
Mass (g)1.8900

Laureate bust of Queen Elizabeth II facing right ("First Portrait" Mary Gillick); around, ELIZABETH · II · DEI · GRATIA · REGINA · F : D :.

Obverse inscription ELIZABETH · II · DEI · GRATIA · REGINA · F : D :

Within an open oak wreath, the numeral 4 below a crown and dividing the date 2009.

Reverse inscription4 2009
EdgeMilled Edge inscriptionNone
Fourpence 2009 (Maundy): Catalogue Reference IDs
SourceReference ID
Krause, Standard Catalog of World CoinsGreat Britain KM# 902
Spink, Coins of England and the United Kingdom4212
Fourpence 2009 (Maundy): References to Information Used
Royal Mint 2016 Mint link
Royal Mint 2016 Mintage link
Royal Mint 2016 History link
UK coin dealer supplying high quality and carefully graded antique coins to the discerning collector
UK coin dealer supplying high quality and carefully graded antique coins to the discerning collector
List of all (46) coins of type: United Kingdom / Maundy Fourpence (Decimal)
Fourpence 1971 (Maundy) Fourpence 1972 (Maundy) Fourpence 1973 (Maundy) Fourpence 1974 (Maundy) Fourpence 1975 (Maundy) Fourpence 1976 (Maundy)
Fourpence 1977 (Maundy) Fourpence 1978 (Maundy) Fourpence 1979 (Maundy) Fourpence 1980 (Maundy) Fourpence 1981 (Maundy) Fourpence 1982 (Maundy)
Fourpence 1983 (Maundy) Fourpence 1984 (Maundy) Fourpence 1985 (Maundy) Fourpence 1986 (Maundy) Fourpence 1987 (Maundy) Fourpence 1988 (Maundy)
Fourpence 1989 (Maundy) Fourpence 1990 (Maundy) Fourpence 1991 (Maundy) Fourpence 1992 (Maundy) Fourpence 1993 (Maundy) Fourpence 1994 (Maundy)
Fourpence 1995 (Maundy) Fourpence 1996 (Maundy) Fourpence 1997 (Maundy) Fourpence 1998 (Maundy) Fourpence 1999 (Maundy) Fourpence 2000 (Maundy)
Fourpence 2001 (Maundy) Fourpence 2002 (Maundy) Fourpence 2003 (Maundy) Fourpence 2004 (Maundy) Fourpence 2005 (Maundy) Fourpence 2006 (Maundy)
Fourpence 2007 (Maundy) Fourpence 2008 (Maundy) Fourpence 2009 (Maundy) Fourpence 2010 (Maundy) Fourpence 2011 (Maundy) Fourpence 2012 (Maundy)
Fourpence 2013 (Maundy) Fourpence 2014 (Maundy) Fourpence 2015 (Maundy) Fourpence 2016 (Maundy)