Home / Coins by Country / Coins from Bahamas / Ten Cents 1985

Detailed information about Coin: Ten Cents 1985 from Bahamas

Coin: Ten Cents 1985

CountryBahamas CurrencyBahamian Dollar
Face value10 (x Cent) TypeTen Cents
Year1985 CurrentYes
Mintage2,007,500 (2.0 million)
NameMint markMintage
Royal Mint No mint mark 2,000,000 (2.0 million)
Franklin Mint Letters FM 7,500 (7500)
MaterialCuproNickel Designer
MonarchQueen Elizabeth II Effigy
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeScalloped
Size (mm)23.5000 Thickness (mm)1.8000
Mass (g)5.1800

Within a beaded circle, at centre, Coat of Arms of The Bahamas: a shield, depicting the Santa Maria ship of Christopher Columbus below a rising sun, supported by a marlin and a flamingo; the shield in surmounted by a helmet with a conch shell and leaves; below on ribbon, FORWARD UPWARD ONWARD TOGETHER; around, COMMONWEALTH OF THE BAHAMAS; below, the date 1985.

Obverse inscription COMMONWEALTH OF THE BAHAMAS 1985

Within a beaded circle, two fish (of the species Albula vulpes, known as "bonefish") swimming in different directions among marine plants; around below, the denomination TEN CENTS. The mint mark (if any) is under the tail of the lower fish, over the letter T of TEN.

Reverse inscriptionTEN CENTS
EdgePlain Edge inscriptionNone
Ten Cents 1985: Known varieties
Proof (Franklin Mint) 7,500 (included in main number)
Ten Cents 1985: Catalogue Reference IDs
SourceReference ID
Krause, Standard Catalog of World CoinsBahamas KM# 61
Ten Cents 1985: References to Information Used
Krause, Standard Catalog of World Coins Mint
Krause, Standard Catalog of World Coins Mintage
Krause, Standard Catalog of World Coins Varieties Proof
American Bullion Inc. - Invest in Silver
American Bullion Inc. - Invest in Silver
List of all (29) coins of type: Bahamas / Ten Cents
Ten Cents 1966 Ten Cents 1968 Ten Cents 1969 Ten Cents 1970 Ten Cents 1971 Ten Cents 1972
Ten Cents 1973 (Queen Elizabeth II) Ten Cents 1973 (Commonwealth of the Bahamas) Ten Cents 1974 Ten Cents 1975 Ten Cents 1976 Ten Cents 1977
Ten Cents 1978 Ten Cents 1979 (Proof only) Ten Cents 1980 Ten Cents 1981 (Proof only) Ten Cents 1982 Ten Cents 1983 (Proof only)
Ten Cents 1984 (Proof only) Ten Cents 1985 Ten Cents 1987 Ten Cents 1989 Ten Cents 1991 Ten Cents 1992
Ten Cents 1996 Ten Cents 1998 Ten Cents 2000 Ten Cents 2005 Ten Cents 2007