Home / Coins by Country / Coins from British West Africa / One Penny 1956

Detailed information about Coin: One Penny 1956 from British West Africa

Coin: One Penny 1956

CountryBritish West Africa CurrencyBritish West African Pound
Face value1 (x Penny) TypeOne Penny (Bronze)
Year1956 CurrentNo (demonetised 1965)
Mintage27,002,800 (27.0 million)
NameMint markMintage
Heaton and Sons (Birmingham Mint) Letter H 13,503,200 (13.5 million)
King's Norton Metal Co. Letters KN 13,499,600 (13.5 million)
MaterialBronze Designer
MonarchQueen Elizabeth II Effigy
Production technologyMilled (machine-made) ShapeRound
Size (mm)30.5000 Thickness (mm)
Mass (g)

An imperial crown above a central circular hole with a scroll ornament to right and left; below crown and around the hole, the denomination ONE PENNY; around, outside the scroll ornaments, QUEEN ELIZABETH THE SECOND; below the hole, the denomination in Arabic: وَاحِد پَنّي.

The mint mark (H or KN) is between the centre hole and the Arabic inscription.

Obverse inscription QUEEN ELIZABETH THE SECOND ONE PENNY وَاحِد پَنّي

Around circular central hole, Solomon's seal (six-pointed "Star of David"), consisting of two equilateral triangles interlaced; around above, BRITISH WEST AFRICA; below, the star divides the date 1956.

Reverse inscriptionBRITISH WEST AFRICA 1956
EdgePlain Edge inscriptionNone
One Penny 1956: Known varieties
George VI mule unknown (hover mouse for text)
One Penny 1956: Catalogue Reference IDs
SourceReference ID
Krause, Standard Catalog of World CoinsBritish West Africa KM# 33
Krause, Standard Catalog of World CoinsBritish West Africa KM# 34 (George VI mule)
One Penny 1956: References to Information Used
Remick, Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1971 Mint
Remick, Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1971 Mintage
Remick, Catalogue of British Commonwealth Coins 1971 Varieties George VI mule
Royal Mint Bullion
Royal Mint Bullion
List of all (38) coins of type: British West Africa / One Penny
One Penny 1907 One Penny 1908 One Penny 1909 One Penny 1910 One Penny 1911 One Penny 1912
One Penny 1913 One Penny 1914 One Penny 1915 One Penny 1916 One Penny 1917 One Penny 1918
One Penny 1919 One Penny 1920 One Penny 1922 One Penny 1926 One Penny 1927 One Penny 1928
One Penny 1929 One Penny 1933 One Penny 1934 One Penny 1935 One Penny 1936 George V One Penny 1936 Edward VIII
One Penny 1937 One Penny 1940 One Penny 1941 One Penny 1942 One Penny 1943 One Penny 1944
One Penny 1945 One Penny 1946 One Penny 1947 One Penny 1951 One Penny 1952 One Penny 1956
One Penny 1957 One Penny 1958